While wind and solar are in vogue as alternative means to produce energy, researchers are also discovering new energy sources
Advanced ink-jet printing involves copolymers that can spontaneously form ultrafine structures.
The Center for Advanced Study announced nine new appointments to its permanent faculty; three from the College of Engineering
A team of scientists has reported direct visualization of magnetic charge crystallization in an artificial spin ice material.
The cover story of the September issue of Discover magazine highlights the work of Illinois professor John A. Rogers.
Rashid Bashir, director of the Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory at UIUC, to be the next head of the Dept of Bioengineering
Andreas C. Cangellaris, the head of the ECE department at UIUC will be the new dean for the College of Engineering.
Technology offers wide-angle fields of view, with low aberrations, high acuity to motion, and nearly infinite depth of field.
Findings may prove useful in search for elusive Majorana quasiparticle.
Researchers have developed stretchable batteries that can be used to power a new generation of flexible electronics.
Five professors at the University of Illinois have been named Swanlund Chairs, the highest endowed title on the Urbana campus
Urbana faculty on the project include Jeff Moore, Andrew Gewirth, Ralph Nuzzo, Jennifer Lewis and Paul Braun are all MRL PI's
Six faculty at the U of I have been named 2012 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
With self-assembly and synchronization, a new class of materials forms dynamic, moving structures
John A. Rogers has been named director of the Frederick Seitz Materials Research Laboratory (MRL)
Jennifer Lewis was cited for her pioneering contributions in the design and architectural assembly of viscoelastic inks.
UIUC Engineering faculty members Sua Myong and John A. Rogers receive NIH awards to pursue visionary science.
Dissolvable electronics could be used inside the body
Steve Granick has been recognized as the 2013 recipient of the Colloid and Surface Chemistry Award of the ACS.