Zukoski elected to National Academy of Engineering

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — University of Illinois Vice Chancellor for Research Charles F. Zukoski and electrical and computer engineering professor P.R. Kumar have been elected to membership in the National Academy of Engineering, the academy announced today.

Charles F. Zukoski
Charles F. Zukoski

Zukoski and Kumar were among 64 engineers selected for membership in the NAE, which was established in 1964 under a charter from the National Academy of Sciences as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers.

Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions in engineering. The current NAE membership includes 2,217 U.S. engineers and 188 foreign associates.

"This recognition and prestigious honor is yet another indication of the valuable contributions these researchers have made in their distinguished careers," said Richard Herman, the chancellor of the Urbana campus. "We are extremely proud of their accomplishments, which are emblematic of the continuing legacy of excellence of our university."

Zukoski, who also is a William H. and Janet Lycan Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, was cited for his research on the manipulation of particle interactions to alter their suspension properties, and for leadership in education.

Kumar, the Franklin W. Woeltge Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was cited for his contributions to adaptive control, manufacturing systems and wireless networks.

Zukoski and Kumar joined the Illinois faculty in 1985.

Related items