Spring Awards to MRL Researchers

A number of awards have been garnered by MRL researchers in the spring of 2008, including those listed below:

Rogers selected as inaugural MRS Fellow

Prof. John Rogers (MatSE) has been selected as a member of the inaugural class of MRS Fellows. His citation reads: "For unique contributions, ranging from the synthesis and characterization of novel materials, to development of unconventional fabrication strategies, to engineering design and testing of electronic devices in commercially realistic applications." The lifetime title of Fellow of the Materials Research Society is granted to members who are notable for their distinguished accomplishments and their outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research, and will be limited to no more new appointees per year than 0.2% of the current MRS membership.

Zuo receives honor from China National Science Foundation

Assoc. Prof. Jim Zuo (MatSE) has been recognized by the China National Science Foundation for Talented Professionals, Oversea Chinese Young Scholar Joint Research Fund, 2007. A total of 80 scientists in all science and engineering fields received this award for 2007.

MatSE and Physics faculty recognized as APS Outstanding Referees

The American Physical Society has instituted the new APS Outstanding Referee program as a highly selective award program to recognize "scientists who have been exceptionally helpful in assessing manuscripts for publication in the APS journals". The program will annually recognize ~130 of the 42,000 active referees, but an inaugural group of 534 have been selected. This lifetime award has been bestowed upon the following investigators affiliated with MRL: David Cahill (MatSE), David Ceperley (Physics), Tai-Chang Chiang(Physics), Miles V. Klein (Physics), Anthony J. Leggett (Physics), Richard M. Martin (Physics), and John H. Weaver (MatSE).

Schweizer receives 2008 Drucker Eminent Faculty Award

Prof. Ken Schweizer (MatSE) has been named the 2008 Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award winner by the Illinois Alpha chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society. The Drucker Eminent Faculty Award recognizes faculty who have received national or international acclaim for dedication to academic excellence through teaching and research. Prof. Schweizer is the third consecutive MRL researcher to win the award.

Wong receives 2008 Xerox Award for Faculty Research

Assoc. Prof. Gerard Wong (MatSE) has been selected among the 2008 recipients of the Xerox Award for Faculty Research, established by the Xerox Foundation to honor faculty members for outstanding research.

Related items