John A. Rogers Elected to National Academy of Engineering

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — John A. Rogers, the Lee J. Flory-Founder Chair in Engineering at the University of Illinois, is among the 68 new members elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

John Rogers
John Rogers

Election to the NAE is one of the highest professional honors an engineer can garner. The 2,290 members and 202 foreign associates are an elite group distinguished by their outstanding contributions to the fields of technology and engineering.

Rogers, a professor of materials science and engineering, was cited for his novel electronic and optoelectronic devices and systems. Renowned for his pioneering work in flexible electronics, Rogers combines soft, stretchable materials with micro-and nanoscale electronic components to create classes of devices with a wide range of practical applications. His most recent work has produced devices from biocompatible sensor arrays to implantable LEDs to eye-inspired cameras to stretchable integrated circuits.

“This is a significant recognition and prestigious honor for one of our distinguished faculty,” said Ilesanmi Adesida, the dean of the College of Engineering and member of the NAE. “This is yet another indication of the impact our college and this university has on the world.”

Rogers earned his doctorate from MIT in 1995. He joined the U. of I. faculty in January 2003. He has written more than 300 published papers and holds more than 80 patents. Among his many honors, he has been awarded a MacArthur fellowship and has been elected a fellow of the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the American Physical Society, the Materials Research Society, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.