Jeffrey Moore Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Four University of Illinois professors have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest professional honors a scientist can receive.

John CronanJeffrey MooreDonald Ort and Gary Parker are among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates announced by the Academy on May 2.

Professor Jeffrey Moore / Photo by Brian Stauffer
Professor Jeffrey Moore / Photo by Brian Stauffer

Jeffrey Moore is the Murchison-Mallory Professor of Chemistry, a professor of materials science and engineering, and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor. Moore and his group examine ideas from physical organic chemistry and engineering with polymer synthesis to invent mechanically responsive materials. Recently, the Moore group partnered with other U. of I. professors to demonstrate that plastics can heal and regenerate after damage by pumping reactive fluids through vascular channels within the material, mimicking blood in a circulatory system.

Moore is the interim director of the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology at Illinois. He also is affiliated with the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology and the Frederick Seitz Material Research Laboratory. He is the recipient of many awards and honors and is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Read the full article, which originally appeared on the Illinois News Bureau site.