Granick Awarded 2009 APS Polymer Physics Prize

FS-MRL Principal Investigator Steve Granick (MatSE) has been recognized as the 2009 recipient of the Polymer Physics Prize of the American Physical Society, the highest honor in physical polymer science in the United States. The award citation reads:

Professor Steve Granick
Professor Steve Granick

"For pathbreaking and elegant experiments that elucidate the structure and dynamics of polymers and liquids confined by surfaces."

The APS Polymer Physics Prize is awarded annually to recognize outstanding accomplishment and excellence of contributions in polymer physics research. The prize consists of a monetary award and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. Established in 1960, it is currently supported by the General Electric Company. This marks the second year in a row that the prize has gone to an Illinois researcher; the 2008 recipient was Dr. Kenneth Schweizer (MatSE), also an FS-MRL investigator.

Related items