Former MRL Director Jennifer Lewis Elected to National Academy of Engineering (NAE)

On February 8, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 84 new members and 22 foreign members. Engineering at Illinois alumni were well-represented in the 2017 class. 


A special congratulations to Jennifer A. Lewis, (BS, 1986, Ceramic Engineering), a former faculty member in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and former director of the Materials Research Lab at Illinois. She is currently a Hansjorg Wyss Professor of Biologically Inspired Engineering, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass. She was elected for development of materials and processes for 3-dimensional direct fabrication of multifunctional structures.


Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/ implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”


Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., later this year.


For more information on the newly-elected NAE class, visit: