Featured News:

See All News:

Magnetic charge crystals imaged in artificial spin ice

Sun, 08/25/2013 - 17:00   A team of scientists has reported direct visualization of magnetic charge crystallization in an artificial spin ice material.

Rogers’ flexible electronics "covered" in Discover magazine

Wed, 08/14/2013 - 06:00   The cover story of the September issue of Discover magazine highlights the work of Illinois professor John A. Rogers.

Bashir to head Illinois' Department of Bioengineering

Tue, 06/25/2013 - 08:55   Rashid Bashir, director of the Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory at UIUC, to be the next head of the Dept of Bioengineering

Andreas C Cangellaris to lead U of I College of Engineering

Fri, 06/21/2013 - 04:38   Andreas C. Cangellaris, the head of the ECE department at UIUC will be the new dean for the College of Engineering.

Bug's view inspires new digital camera's unique imaging capabilities

Wed, 05/01/2013 - 08:38   Technology offers wide-angle fields of view, with low aberrations, high acuity to motion, and nearly infinite depth of field.

Small in size, big on power: New microbatteries a boost for electronics

Tue, 04/16/2013 - 10:23   Though they be but little, they are fierce.

Interdisciplinary team demonstrates superconducting qualities of topological insulators

Wed, 04/10/2013 - 09:49   Findings may prove useful in search for elusive Majorana quasiparticle.

Stretchable battery for flexible circuits

Thu, 02/28/2013 - 07:42   Researchers have developed stretchable batteries that can be used to power a new generation of flexible electronics.

Five named to Swanlund Chairs, campus's premier endowed recognition

Mon, 12/03/2012 - 18:00   Five professors at the University of Illinois have been named Swanlund Chairs, the highest endowed title on the Urbana campus

Illinois partners with DOE, Argonne to establish "batteries and energy storage hub"

Mon, 12/03/2012 - 05:07   Urbana faculty on the project include Jeff Moore, Andrew Gewirth, Ralph Nuzzo, Jennifer Lewis and Paul Braun are all MRL PI's

Six professors at Illinois named 2012 AAAS fellows

Thu, 11/29/2012 - 05:04   Six faculty at the U of I have been named 2012 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

New structures self-assemble in synchronized dance

Wed, 11/21/2012 - 04:23   With self-assembly and synchronization, a new class of materials forms dynamic, moving structures

Rogers to head Materials Research Laboratory

Mon, 10/22/2012 - 10:31   John A. Rogers has been named director of the Frederick Seitz Materials Research Laboratory (MRL)

Lewis Recognized as Materials Research Society Medalist

Mon, 10/22/2012 - 05:43  

Jennifer Lewis was cited for her pioneering contributions in the design and architectural assembly of viscoelastic inks.

Two engineering faculty members recognized with NIH Awards

Fri, 10/05/2012 - 03:17   UIUC Engineering faculty members Sua Myong and John A. Rogers receive NIH awards to pursue visionary science.

Next up: Environmentally safe electronics that also vanish in the body

Mon, 10/01/2012 - 04:13   Dissolvable electronics could be used inside the body

Granick recognized with ACS colloid science award

Sun, 08/26/2012 - 18:00   Steve Granick has been recognized as the 2013 recipient of the Colloid and Surface Chemistry Award of the ACS.

Lewis elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Tue, 04/17/2012 - 08:21   Professor, MRL director among members honored for 'outstanding leadership and scholarship'

Martin receives 2012 Career Award

Fri, 02/10/2012 - 03:36   Assistant professor, MRL affiliate garners nod from National Science Foundation (NSF)

Particle-Free Silver Ink Prints Small, High-Performance Electronics

Wed, 01/25/2012 - 10:10   Illinois' Lewis, researchers develop a reactive silver ink for printing high-performance electronics on low-cost materials