MRL Facilities Orientation

Orientation for New MRL Researchers - Fall 2019

To help you get started with research at the MRL Central Research Facilities, the MRL staff present an orientation for researchers new to this facility. You’ll learn:

  • how to find your way around the facility and better understand the various instrumentation options
  • strategies for working safely at MRL
  • how to use the training request and scheduling system
  • answers to common questions about the facility

You can attend the orientation even if you have not yet submitted a proposal or if your proposal has not yet been approved. If you haven’t already submitted an online proposal to use the MRL Central Research Facilities, please do so. Instrument training requires project approval and an MRL user ID.

MRL Orientation is required before all other training can be scheduled. Completing MRL Orientation consists of:

To be admitted to the in-person MRL Orientation session, you must bring:

  • Both of your DRS certificates (paper or electronic)
  • Your University I-Card

After completing MRL Orientation, you may request training for specific instruments/techniques, if your proposal has been approved for those techniques.

MRL Orientation and Cleanroom Orientation Schedule

MRL Orientation sessions for new researchers will be held in 280 MRL from 3 to 4pm. Expect to stay the entire hour. Please see schedule below.

If your research requires access to the MRL cleanrooms, attending the MRL Cleanroom Orientation is also required. The MRL Cleanroom Orientation will be in room 201 MRL from 3-4:30pm, unless otherwise noted. Please see schedule given below. In order to obtain more information on the requirements to perform lithography, etching or deposition, email Dr. Xiaoli Wang.

Cleanroom sessions may be attended in any order.

August
Mon August 5 MRL Orientation
Wed Aug 14 Cleanroom Orientation
Tues Aug 20 MRL Orientation
Tue Aug 27 MRL Orientation
Thu Aug 29 Cleanroom Orientation
September
Tues Sep 3 MRL Orientation
Mon Sep 9 Cleanroom Orientation
Mon Sep 16 MRL Orientation
Tue Sep 17 Cleanroom Orientation
Wed Sep 25 Cleanroom Orientation
Mon Sep 30 MRL Orientation
October
Thu Oct 3 Cleanroom Orientation
Wed Oct 9 Cleanroom Orientation
Tue Oct 15 MRL Orientation
Tue Oct 22 Cleanroom Orientation
Tue Oct 29 MRL Orientation
November
Fri Nov 1 Cleanroom Orientation
Mon Nov 4 MRL Orientation
Thu Nov 7 Cleanroom Orientation
Tue Nov 19 MRL Orientation
Thu Nov 21 Cleanroom Orientation
**Nov 23 - Dec 1  
December
Mon Dec 2 MRL Orientation
Tue Dec 10 Cleanroom Orientation
**Dec 12 - Jan 20 Finals and Winter Break

**No sessions during Thanksgiving, Finals Week and Winter Break.