CMM Staff

CMM houses a suite of state-of-the-art instrumentation focusing on the micro- and nanocharacterization of materials using electron-beam, ion-beam, X-ray, and laser techniques. CMM operates under the guidelines of the MRL Central Research Facilities philosophy that modern instrumentation for nanocharacterization of materials is most effectively utilized in a shared mode, supported by skilled professionals.

CMM offers:

General Numbers

Dr. Mauro Sardela
Director of Central Research Facilities
2014 Supercon
P: (217) 244-0547
F: (217) 244-2278

Chris Johns
Office Administrator
(217) 333-1371

Staff Directory:

Accelerator-based Techniques for Analysis

Doug Jeffers
304 MRL

Tim Spila
308/B01/B04 MRL

Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM) and Focused Ion Beam (FIB)

Jim Mabon
372 MRL

Honghui Zhou
404 MRL

Zhiyu Wang
256 MRL

Scanning Probe Microscopy (SPM)

Kathy Walsh
406 MRL

Surface Analysis

Steve Burdin
301/0016 MRL

Rick Haasch
302/B81/B06/B08 MRL

Tim Spila
308/B01/B04 MRL

Transmission and Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy (TEM) and (STEM)

CQ Chen
402 MRL

Jim Mabon
372/0020 MRL

Lou Ann Miller
374 MRL

Wacek Swiech
306 MRL

Honghui Zhou
404 MRL

X-ray Diffraction and Reflectivity (XRD) and (XRR)

Mauro Sardela
370/148 MRL/2014 Supercon

Natalie Becerra-Stasiewicz
256 MRL